Skip to main content

What does ACEA mean on oil?

By 2020-03-22July 25th, 2021No Comments

ACEA engine oil grades

ACEA classification was adopted in Europe in 1991 to replace the CCMC system, working since 1972, and combined all requirements for the quality of motor oils, presented by the most influential and large representatives of the European automotive industry.

European auto oil quality standards are more demanding than the American ones, so it is not possible to compare ACEA and API specifications directly.

ACEA divides oils into 3 main groups:

  1. A/B – for gasoline or diesel-powered passenger car engines. Currently, there are 4 classes: A1/B1-04, A3/B3-04, A3/B4-04, A5/B5-04.
  2. C class is a new class that appeared in the classification only in 2004: for diesel and gasoline engines that meet modern stricter environmental requirements. Currently, the category includes 3 classes: C1-04, C2-04, C3-04.
  3. E – for the engines of trucks, running on diesel. Since the end of 2004, there are 4 classes – E2-96, issue 5, E4-99, issue 3, E6, E7.
    The quality of engine oil in the categories is denoted by one number immediately after the letter, the higher the number, the higher requirements are set for the product. Also, often manufacturers specify two more digits, they indicate the year of introduction of the latest version of ACEA motor oil classes.

ACEA oil specifications

David Muench (Carnes Mechanical)

David Muench (Carnes Mechanical)

Hey, I’m David. I’ve worked in a cars store for 6 years. I write reviews and guides, helping people to choose the most suitable technicals and best product for them. I’m happy to finally share my knowledge of the industry here, on CarnesMechanical.

Leave a Reply